LibGuides: Automotive, Diesel, Small Engine, Truck Driving: Websites

General Information Resources

Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center
The site provides information about fuels, vehicles, incentives and laws, data analysis and trends, and information resources from a government site.
Auto -- How Stuff Works
Find out how autos, motorcycles, and trucks work.
Biodiesel
This site is for the national trade association representing the biodiesel industry in the United States." Provides news, media and print materials for purchase, a buying guide for biodiesel fuel, fact sheets, and a searchable database of technical reports.
Defects and Recalls- a government site
“The Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) is an office within the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). ODI conducts defect investigations and administers safety recalls to support the NHTSA’s mission to improve safety."
EPA Fuel Economy Guide
This government source provides up-to-date fuel economy information, as well as environmental and safety data, for many model years.
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
This U.S. Department of Transportation agency is focused on reducing crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving large trucks and buses.
Jalopnik.Com
Lots of car news and information.
Kelly Blue Book
Find standard prices on both new and used cars.
Should you convert my car to run on natural gas?
Popular Science article on what is required to start using natural gas in a car, which is much cheaper than regular gasoline.
Transportation Research Board
High quality transportation studies and other information for officials and researchers.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Career Information

Automotive Body and Glass Repair
Career information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
Career information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Best Driver Jobs
Search for truck driver employment by browsing companies or by location and destination You can also create your application to apply for positions within this field.
Diesel Service Technicians and Mechanics
Career information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Certification / Testing / Training / Repair Tips

Autopedia: the Automotive Encyclopedia
Auto repair reference for the general public.
Autoshop 101 from Kevin Sullivan
Free online auto electronics tutorials, ASE practice tests, and technical articles. Concerning Toyota products.
National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
A non-profit certification program for service professionals. Automotive students can download Study guides, for the ASE exams and other test preparation guides. Note that there is a charge for taking prep exams. Students can register for the paper and pencil exam to obtain ASE Certification.

Professional Associations

America's Independent Truckers' Association
The organization provides a wide variety of information covering products, services, CDL practice tests.
American Truck Historical Society
The ATCH is a professional organization dedicated to preserving the history of the trucking industry in the United States. Search this page to view over 40,000 images including manuals, truck models, and more.
American Trucking Associations
The ATA is the lead advocacy group for truckers and promotes policies that focus on highway safety and environmental sustainability.
AutoInc: Online Edition
“The mission of AutoInc., the Automotive Service Association's official publication, is to be the informational authority for ASA and industry members nationwide."
Truckload Carriers Association
The TCA is an association that exists to meet the needs of all truckload carriers.
Women In Trucking
A non-profit organization that encourages and promotes women in the trucking industry.

Online News Sources

Commercial Carrier Journal
The CCJ is an information source that provides articles covering the latest news, technology, and reviews surrounding the freight transport industry.
Journal of Commerce - Trucking Logistic News
Contains news & analysis as well as labor information in the trucking industry.
Truck Driving News
A website dedicated to providing comprehensive coverage of all news associated with the trucking industry.
Truck News
Features in-depth reports, opinion pieces, and business tips for truckers.

Libraries

Automotive, Diesel, Small Engine, Truck Driving

Reference and Liaison Librarian