Skip to Main Content

Information Matchmaking: Database Profiles

SLCC Librarians are here to help you build strong relationships with the information you need! Use this guide to identify a helpful database for your research needs.

Meet your Databases!

We've identified great databases for each subject area so you can pick one or two to get to know them better! 

Scroll through the gallery below to meet your potential matches. If you'd like to explore one, simply select the image or the name (i.e. "Art Full Text") to access the resource.

*This is a small selection of the databases offered at SLCC. 

Image of painting palette with the quote

Art Full Text

Likes

Art! Including photography, film, architecture, graphic arts, industrial design, painting, etc.

Features

Full text articles from more than 320 periodicals; indexing for additional periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions

Ideal First Date

Photographing the sunset from a parking garage downtown before an art gallery opening

Image of cells with the quote Need a lab partner? I look good through protective eyewear.

BioOne.1

Likes

Biological, ecological, & environmental sciences

Features

Full text of over 75 high-impact bioscience research journals

Ideal First Date

An afternoon hike identifying local plants

Image of briefcase with the quote Can you file a workplace safety incident report? I just fell for you.

Business Source Premier

Likes

Accounting, marketing, management, finance, economics

Features

Full text peer reviewed journals, market research reports, industry reports, company profiles, country reports, SWOT analyses, videos

Ideal First Date

Drafting a social media marketing plan over coffee and donuts

Image of a microphone with the quote you had me at the correct use of you're.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Likes

Communication, mass media, language, linguistics, sociolinguistics...

Features

Full text articles of more than 520 journals and more than 5,500 author profiles

Ideal First Date

Watching the Super Bowl to analyze & rank the success of the commercials

Image of a laptop with the quote Is your name Wi-Fi? Because i'm feeling a connection.

Computer Source: Consumer Edition

Likes

Technology

Features

Full text articles for nearly 300 publications with the latest info and current trends in high technology

Ideal First Date

Binge-watching Halt and Catch Fire while jailbreaking a new phone

Image of scales and a gavel and the quote I'm organizing a rally to protest not meeting you sooner.

CQ Researcher

Likes

Controversial, current issues (climate change, immigration, student debt, etc.)

Features

Fact-checked in-depth reports on today's issues; includes pro/con debates & chronologies

Ideal First Date

Making posters for tomorrow's rally while live-streaming the city council meeting

Image of a chalkboard with the quote Now I know my ABC's, next time won't you dine with me?

Education Full Text

Likes

Educational specialties, funding, administration, teaching methods, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education...

Features

Full text of more than 530 journals

Ideal First Date

Splitting a PB & J at the park after story time at the library

Image of science lab equipment with the quote Do you like science? Because I've got my ion you.

SciFinder

Likes

Chemistry

Features

Comprehensive and authoritative sources of references, substances, and reactions

Ideal First Date

Starting a fire from scratch to make s'mores and watching Breaking Bad

If your topic is from another area, you can try using OneSearch for SLCC Libraries, the main search box on the library website, to start your research, contact a librarian, or explore our research guides for more subject specific databases:

(Please note: the Chemistry database SciFinder requires registration prior to searching. Clicking on it will take you to a page with links directly to the database as well as the link to create a free account.)