Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music and Recording: Library Databases

This guide is to help students and faculty access credible resources related to the study of Music.

OneSearch info.

ONE SEARCH, see just below, searches almost all of the databases at once.   

This is good for a beginning search since it will find a lot of results.  If you don't like too many results, try using a single database, or use OneSearch limiters. 

Here is the A to Z database list for SLCC Libraries, starting with A.  They have descriptions attached.

OneSearch search box

Limit Your Search Result

Best Music Databases

NAXOS online music database is a music player and resource.

NAXOS MUSIC LIBRARY  

Search, listen, and use thousands of songs and musical arrangements from the Naxos Music Library. Genres include orchestral works, chamber music, operas, etc.  Also has a Music Dictionary and other resources.

Contact me, if you'd like a brief how-to guide sent to you.

_________________________________________________________________________

OTHERS TO TRY :

ART FULL TEXT  and  JSTOR  databases have academic journal articles on Music topics.

Also, try  Project Muse database for scholarly articles on Humanities topics, including Music.

Sometimes it's better to try single databases as opposed to the OneSearch where you get so much, and sometimes miss important items.

Profile

Profile Photo
Keith Slade
Contact:
Make an appointment with me. Click on ribbon below. Faculty, schedule library instruction for a class.
My address is :
South City Campus
Room 1-022
1575 S. State Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84115
801-957-3435
Website