Web Sites - DH 1400 - Dental Hygiene Theory II Research Course Guide

Gateway Resources

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
more...less...
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Consumer & Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS)
Web sites you can trust. A detailed directory of recommended Web sites.
MedEdPORTAL
"Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials."
Medline Plus
Contain online information on dental hygiene and dental health.
more...less...
Each topic page has links to authoritative information on that subject, as well as linking to a MEDLINE search to retrieve journal article citations (with some links to the full-text articles).
Also see the EBSCOhost Medline database.

Dental Hygiene Web Sites

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Oral Health
Provides useful data & statistics on a wide range of topics related to oral health.
Dental Health from Medline Plus
Designed for the public, this has a lot of information for hygienists. See the current news. It also can go into a PubMed (Medline) search for dental health journal articles.
Dental Hygiene Education
Case studies in the field and other information. From Margaret Fehrenbach, RDH,MS.
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
Free online journal for Dental Hygiene.
i IHire Dental Dental Hygienist Jobs in Utah
Find Utah Dental Hygienist Jobs at iHireDental.com. All Dental Hygienist Jobs available.
Job Overview for Dental Hygienists (top healthcare job!)
Good facts about this field.
National Center for Dental Hygiene Research
Links to many information resources.
National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center
Resource center specifically created to improve the oral health of pregnant women and children.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Dental Hygienists
From the U.S. Bureau of Statistics, a thorough and detailed overview of the dental hygiene career path.
Oral Cancer Foundation
Advocacy foundation that provides information on oral cancer and preventative measure that can be taken to limit the risk of this type of cancer.
Oral Pathology Review Images
Images of common oral problems prepared by the School of Dentistry at Virginia Commonwealth University.
OSHA Safety and Health Topics - Dentistry
From the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, provides information on the hazards and risk associated with this profession.

Professional Associations

American Dental Association
Includes career and accreditation information. Dental resources.
American Dental Hygienists' Association
Official organization for the field. Includes publications, research, and other resources. See the student section.
International Federation of Dental Hygienists
International non-profit organization that promotes dental health on a global scale.
Oral Health from the National Center for Education in Maternal Health
Site contains links to data & statistics as well as to other dental associations covering the topic of maternal and child oral health.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Michael Toy

Contact:

Salt Lake Community College
Jordan Campus
3491 West Wights Fort Road JHS 235B
West Jordan, Utah 84088

801-957-6208

Subjects: Health Sciences

Text-A-Librarian

Have a question?
Text-A-Librarian!

Send a text message to:

801-770-0996

A librarian will reply with an answer as soon as possible.

Libraries

DH 1400 - Dental Hygiene Theory II Research Course Guide